Lifestyle / Uncategorized

For His Glory

For the past two weeks I have been at a christian camp in Tyler, Tx called Pine Cove training to be a camp counselor and a ropes instructor for the second half of summer. I never imagined that I would sign up to be a camp counselor for the summer, in fact it was the last thing I expected to do. Growing up as a dedicated city girl who had never been to an overnight summer camp before, I made sure I stayed clear of the Pine Cove booth at my school!! It’s funny how sometimes we try to avoid things because we think its not for us but it’s exactly where God wants you to be lol!! Long story short, one night the Holy Spirit was pressing on me that I needed to apply to Pine Cove, so the next day I interviewed and shortly after that I got offered a job. This summer I am going to be  counselor at Pine Cove Ranch sharing the gospel to 6th and 7th grade girls and I couldn’t be more excited!! Leaving camp today was bittersweet and Lord knows I was balling my eyes out. I CANNOT WAIT to get back to Pine Cove!!!

I wish I can say that during all of training week and orientation I was this excited but I wasn’t. These past two weeks were not easy in the slightest. I was overwhelmed with so many cheers and dances, I had to learn new skills like tying knots and learning how to belay, I had to jump and run more than I’ve ever done in my life, and I was mentally and physically exhausted. During these two weeks the enemy was relentlessly filling my head with lies. Constantly I had thoughts in my head that told me “I wasn’t good enough” or “I would be a terrible camp counselor” and on top of that I got really sick my second week at camp. I seriously started to doubt God and his purpose for me at Pine Cove. But thank God that he is so so so faithful!!!! Even in the midst of my doubt and my sickness he continually reassured me. God sent so many girls over the past two weeks who literally spoke life into me!!! I am so blown away by these incredible women of God. In just two weeks I feel so much more secure in my identity in Christ and confident in who God created me be!! Even greater than that God is already moving so tangibly in the lives of his people!! Breakthrough is happening and God is healing and restoring the broken places of my family and friends.

Its only been two weeks and God has done so much in my life and in the lives of the other staffers around me. I’m so pumped because this is only the beginning. I am so expectant of God to do exceedingly, abundantly, all I could ever ask think or imagine. Lives are not only going to be transformed at Pine Cove Ranch but at all Pine Cove camps. I am expectant for campers to experience the love of God this summer. For them to truly understand the beauty and power of the Gospel and know there is hope and freedom in Jesus because of it!! I pray with all of my heart that these campers would realize that God created everyone of them uniquely with a specific purpose and destiny. I pray that by the Pine Cove staff’s example that these kids will choose to seek the Lord passionately and wholeheartedly and know that they can have an intimate relationship with Jesus even at a young age. I pray that because of the life change that happens at camp, these kids would bring the gospel back to their homes and impact their families and their neighborhoods.

For everyone who is working first half of the summer I LOVE Y’ALL SOOOO MUCH and I’m praying fiercely for y’all!!! God is good and the good work he has started at camp he will complete it!!! During my quiet time with God a few days ago I came upon this verse that I felt was perfect for all of us staffers.

Psalm 71: 14-18 “As for me, I will always have hope; I will praise you more and more. My mouth will tell of your righteous deeds, of your saving acts all day long—though I know not how to relate them all. I will come and proclaim your mighty acts, Sovereign Lord; I will proclaim your righteous deeds, yours alone. Since my youth, God, you have taught me, and to this day I declare your marvelous deeds. Even when I am old and gray, do not forsake me, my God, till I declare your power to the next generation, your mighty acts to all who are to come. “

Leave a Reply

